Vice President Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia is in a comfortable lead as the results of the Super Delegates trickle in from all polling centres across the 16 regions.

The Super Delegates Congress is being held to elect five presidential aspirants to contest the party’s primaries in November this year. This was after 10 candidates picked up forms to contest the NPP’s presidential primaries which is scheduled for November 4.

Provisional results indicate that the Vice President in each Region has garnered over 60% of the valid votes cast and is followed by Member of Parliament (MP) for Assin Central Kennedy Agyapong and Former Minister of Trade and Industry Alan Kwadwo Kyeremanten.

After the collation of 16 out of the 17 polling centres across the country, the Vice President has come out on top with 67.10% of total votes cast, followed by Member of Parliament for Assin Central, Kennedy Agyapong who accrued 14.15% of total votes cast.

Former Trades Minister, Alan Kyerematen came third with 10.85% of total votes cast, and former Agric Minister, Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto came fourth with 4.01%.

There is however a tie as Francis Addai Nimoh and former Energy Minister, Boakye Agyarko both got 1.06 percent of total votes cast.

Ten (10) presidential aspirants are contesting today including former Trades Minister Alan John Kwadwo Kyerematen, Former Agriculture Minister, Dr Owusu Afriyie Akoto, former party General Secretary, Kwabena Agyei Agyepong, Kwadwo Poku, an energy expert, Kennedy Agyapong, MP for Assin Central, Joe Ghartey, former Railways Minister, Boakye Agyarko, former Energy Minister, Kofi Konadu Apraku, former Trade Minister Francis Addai Nimoh, former Member of Parliament for Mampong and Dr Mahamudu Bawumia, current Vice President who is considered the favorite to win the over-all elections in November.

See some of the provisional  results below;

Eastern Region
80/81 votes cast

  1. Ken Agyapong – 8
  2. Alan – 7
  3. Joe Ghartey – 0
  4. Kwadwo Poku – 0
  5. Afriyie Akoto – 1
  6. Kwabena Agyepong – 0
  7. Addai Nimo – 1
  8. Apraku- 0
  9. Boakye Agyarko- 4

Bawumia – 59

  2. Kennedy Agyapong – 19
  3. Alan Kyeremanten – 4
  4. Dr. Owusu Akoto Afriyie – 3
  5. Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia – 25

Western North

  1. Ken 5
  2. Alan 4
  3. Ghartey 1
  4. Kwadwo Poku 1
  5. Akoto 3
  6. Agyarko 1
  7. Bawumia 18

Upper west region

  1. Bawumia 23
  2. Allan 4
  3. Akoto Afriyie 3
  4. Kennedy Agyapong 2


  1. Ken 4
  2. Alan 4
  3. Bawumia 29



Thanks for reading from You are free to share this story via the various social media platforms and follow us on; Facebook:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: